Part 3: Learn From Our Top 20 Natural Hair Celebrities

As promised, her is part 3 of my Natural Celebrity posts. Let’s see what these next 5 beautiful natural haired female celebs have to say about their natural hair journey, their tips and experience. Let us start with THE Eryhah Badu!

11. Erykah Badu (and daughter):

91eeb3c1-9e05-44cc-8359-c1ae6d4c5853

Erykah Badu is one of America’s legendary singer-songwritter, Grammy winning award artist and actress. She is renown for the bigness and fullness of her natural fro! During her interview with curlologist, Badu told us how she feels about her natural hair and the natural hair movement in general, Badu went deep:

“My hair is an aesthetic choice. And I don’t feel I have an obligation to wear it one way or the other but to health for myself.  And to me it’s healthier to, I guess, be as natural as you can in your most natural state.  At the same time, how you wear your hair is a political statement as well. Pretty much everything you do as a black woman is a political statement. I don’t feel like it’s a responsibility or anything cause at that point I’d be putting myself into a penitentiary and that wouldn’t be a natural state!  So the most natural thing to me is to stay as pure to or real to or close to who I am as possible….I really don’t [think] a lot about how people wear their hair right now, cause I’d rather see a person with a natural mind and processed head than a processed mind and natural head”

tumblr_loo35dv2AH1qjvf7y

hAIR-TYPING-

Badu has always been a “non- conformist” and was only really influenced at childhood. But in adulthood she says her confidence has developed “like any other muscle” and “being natural is really fresh but once in a while, super natural”

2013-hats_347x520_45

Badu also has two beautiful daughters who both have lovely kinks and curls, just look at them!

erykah-badu-435  Erykah-Badu-girls-Mars-and-Puma_thumb

 12. Lupita Nyong’o

Last year, the 12 Years a Slave actress, was crowned the most beautiful person in the world by PEOPLE’s magazine! And indeed she is a beauty and her beauty is not defined by what society marks as beautiful, she has features that society wouldn’t describe as being “on fleek”, and because of this her beauty stands out even more. She deserved that title. She is known for her low and consistent hair cut, which she manages to wear in a variety of styles.

lupita-nyongo-435

She has had many interview regarding her natural hair and skin regimen and unlike other celebrities, has given as a deeper insight into hair and beauty products, some of which I have never heard or used before. With Lupita, you learn something new!

For example, for those who have big chopped and want to maintain a sleeker TWA/fro:

“Sometimes when I comb my hair out there are a lot of strands sticking up and it looks messy, so [hairstylist] Larry Sims taught me to just use a hot towel, placed gently on top, to calm the curls down. It gives my Afro a sleeker look.”

 lupita-nyongo-600x800 lupita-nyongo-maquillage

Lupita has been able to rock many many styles with short hair and so has been an inspiration for many years to big-choppers.

The actress first shaved her hair off at the age of 19 and she described it as almost a vulnerable feeling.

“It happened when I was 19. I had relaxed hair and it was up until my shoulders and I’d go to the salon every week to have it curled or retouched. And I dyed my hair green and blue and maroon and you name it. Two things happened, I got fed up of going to the salon. I just wanted less time grooming so I could get more stuff done. And then also I realized if I continued messing up with my hair I would be completely bald by the age of forty. So I just shaved it all off and I was completely a skinhead. And it was so liberating. And I discovered the shape of my head wasn’t so bad. And so I grew my hair a little and ever since then I just don’t the patience to grow it again. But I do enjoy wearing a wig from time to time in the privacy of my house.”

2ecd700ccb7a2028_462418301.jpg.xxxlarge_2x

I have always admired Lupita’s flawless skin as well as her beautiful dark chocolatey tone. Maybe part of the trick is the fact that she minimises her make-up usage:

“I don’t wear makeup when I’m not working on the red carpet,” said Nyong’o in a video interview with the publication for the March issue. “Except for a night out here and there … but I try to give my skin a break.”

lupita-2

Lupitas’s hairstylist also kindly shared his tips on women with short natural hair. He says we should “take risks”:

“Take risks. And what I mean by take risks is take risks with colour  Take risks with shape. Don’t be afraid to put in a part. Don’t be afraid to add a little extension to give it some height. I think what’s cool about the different hairstyles I’ve been able to do on Lupita…for me it’s all about what her face looks like, what the makeup is going to be, what event she’s going to and what outfit she’s wearing and all that has to go together. And it makes sense that those moments of collaboration we’ve just really hit it out of the park everytime. It’s been so much fun.”

lupita-nyongo-golden-globes-2-1421028724 lupita-nyong-o-at-45th-naacp-image-awards-in-pasadena-_7

14. Tia Mowry-Hardrict:

Now we have the infamous Mowry sisters, well known for the teenage acting career in “Sister Sister” and “Twitches”, who have both dropped the straight look and embraced a curly TWA. Let’s start with Tia Mowry-Hardrict, the actress from “The Game”, who big chopped in 2012. She first introduced the new look through instagram and several fro photos:

tia1

 

She tells us that it was her son who motivated her into becoming au natural!

We all know I [heart] my sons curls!! He’s encouraged me to embrace mine! #naturalhair #naturalcurls

She gave us an insight of her regimen and her go-to products:

“I work with Kim Kimble, who is an amazing hairstylist, and I owe my hair growth to her. Basically she told me to co-wash my hair every single day, because it will stimulate my hair to grow. Basically, after I wash it and when it’s still wet I put Moroccanoil or Argan oil in my hair and then I’ll go ahead and use a product by DevaCurl.”

0e84cf3c2d920a2e34718b555aa303e2

She has also highlighted her beauty through protective braid styling.

“I’m starting to tap into all my fears, and one of the things I’ve always wanted to do was have braids. It’s completely out of left field for me,” Mowry says. “I grew up watching [Lisa Bonet] on the Cosbys and she was the girl on television that I could identify with — she looked like me! I always loved her boho vibe. So I just thought what the hell, lets do it!”tumblr_nf2fgaLa1g1stibteo1_500

The style, which took seven hours to complete, was a huge hit — especially with her son, Cree.

“My son wakes up to me every morning saying, Mommy your hair is ‘berry berry’ pretty,” she shares. “I love that the braids show a different, edgier side of who I am. I’m having so much fun with this hair! It’s easy and it’s a great accessory in itself.”

e76b36cb890560a587eba4ff30b5d5b0

Talking about her son Cree, Tia has showed off her son’s curly golden locks. Isn’t he mad adorable?!

tia-mowry-hardrict-son-cree

Although her son did receive some negative criticism, because everyone has “haters”, as a mother she had a lot to say to defend her son.

“I am proud to have a SON that embraces his natural hair :). Hair length does not define your sex. Last I checked, a penis and a vagina does..Pick up a book, educate yourself, and embrace cultures outside of your own, and maybe you will see that there are PLENTY of MEN wearing top knots and MEN with long hair. Here’s a shout-out to all the moms who have boys and girls with natural hair! Live ON!”

tiac1

15. Tamera Mowry-Housley:

Tamera Mowry-Housley, twin sister of Tia Mowry-Hardrict, also began her acting career in “Sister sister” and is currently 1 of the 4 hostesses in “The Real” Talk show. Earlier last year, the beautiful Mowry sister did her big chop. She said it was becuase of the heat damage caused by flat ironing and heat application. Well it wasn’t really a big chop, she gradually trimmed the damaged hair off over time.

“It all began when a hair stylist used a marcel HOT IRON on my hair and ruined it. I cried, but it’s only made me appreciate the hair I was born with. Ladies embrace your curls… “Beginnings of my curly hair journey. It starts with a cut! You don’t always have to do a big chop! Like me, I’m doing it gradually…”

bda809174987fcd23e877f1eabef09e5Tamera-Mowry-Natural-Makeup1

Tamera debuted her TWA on her talk show, and her reply to everyone’s shock was:

“Growing up on TV, you guys saw my natural hair … Throughout the years, I always straightened it, blew-dry it, put a hot comb to it. I went through a really rough patch with my hair that I had to do the ‘Big Chop,’ which is basically chopping all of your damaged hair off and starting anew.” 

TR1052_0034_zps2683189e

 

Like every pre-big chop individual, Tamera did admit how nervous she was starting a new hair journey.

“I was a little nervous, because not many people are used to seeing me like this,” but continues that she — and her husband — both love the cut. “I love it!”

The new look sat very well with her husband too…

“My husband loves her hair. He’d rather me wear my hair curly all day, every day than to straighten it, and that makes me feel great.”

tamera-mowry-natural-hair-2

Like her nephew, her son also rocks golden natural curls and seems to have the same 3c/4a hair pattern as his momma.
Screen Shot 2015-04-25 at 21.30.03

Tamera has her own blog where she talks about natural hair, as well as other topics such as relationships and fashion. Check out her blog. Her is a link of her blog post on natural hair tips:

http://www.tameramowry.com/5-things-know-going-natural/

a8672dd3371a4ae006f8ca30fd021053

12. Chrisette Michele:

Chrisette Michele, definitely one of my favourite R&B Divas, she has a voice of an angel and is Grammy award Soul and R&B singer-songwritter who has recently started her own record label with her and her brother being one of the first artists.

Chrisette-Michele-Short-Curly-Hairstylechrisette-555(1)

Throughout this season on R&B Divas, Chrisette has represented the natural hair community very beautifully especially with a range of protective hairstyles. Chrisette started off in the music industry with textured/natural hair but then switched to relaxed hairstyles. Before getting signed to a label and even during childhood, young Chrisette loved to experiment with her hair and would often big chop every couple of years. She shed more light about her early hair experiences:

“Growing up in a mixed school (8 black kids), my hair was fun for attention from my friends who all had beautiful hair. My “click” was mixed with a Puerto Rican, a mixed girl with hair DOWN HER BACK and beautifully tightly curled, a girl from Africa and the most beautiful white porcelain like girl from Spain… and me! I was the president of the African American club in High School and we all participated and celebrated each others culture, beauty and differences. I kept this free attitude with my heart and hair all my life… but my hair care regimen was ALWAYS serious no matter the style. Around 18 me n my BFF colored our hair… mine was strawberry red!!! LOVED it! I was able to keep it soft and silky because it was a simple wrap style (like Faith Evans at the time) so there wasn’t much heat or hairspray. I chopped it down to my kinky roots shortly after again and wore a lil TWA sometimes braiding it up, and playing with different hair choices.

College was a challenge for my hair. I was super busy… I was introduced to something I thought I’d never ever do… the weave. My manager at the time suggested it as an easy alternative to my ritualistic hair regimens. It was fun. I missed my naps though… I was in college and did the BC a year or so later and walked into Def Jam and got a record deal! It was my fro, a Bob Marley track jacket, ripped jeans and an audition of “Golden” and this song called “ A Day In Your Life” both of which I had written and was able to play on the piano.”

 Chrisette-Michele-Confirms-New-Albumchrisette-michele-twist-hypehair26463940030db3342ae5bcdd0013f548

Even as an artist now, Chrisette admitted that there are “pressures” in the industry but she doesn’t like to appear as though she is insecure:

“There’s definitely pressure… I try not to admit it sometimes because I hate the appearance of insecurity.The honest truth is you wonder if you’ll get the same attention if you don’t look like every one else. I’ve been able to tear down the issue of curvy girls in the industry. I’ve been able to have 2 successful albums and Grammy attention as well as an award, Billboard chart attention and television, and magazine attention. There’s still more work and stereo types to be smacked down, but with grace and honesty and an understanding tongue, I believe that people will begin to see beauty comes in many more forms then what we expose to the public. I am beautiful and I believe that there are many beautiful women to which I can give a voice.”

Chrisette Michele haircut

In 2010, Chrisette big chopped again and it came as a huge surprise. She wanted to start afresh with her hair which at the time was OVER-processed, she explains:

“My hair and I had a really bad argument. She was being sprayed with alcohol and burnt with irons… She was being over processed and yanked and pulled by weave strings and suffocated by glue. She told me if I didn’t straighten up and fly right that she was leaving. I was out on tour, and day after day of this torturous regimen I began to feel like I was hurting myself. I wasn’t being fair to my body. I was ingesting and supporting harsh products and literally ruining myself beginning with my hair. I told my band and tour family that when we all landed home in 6 weeks I would apologize to myself and begin a new relationship with myself beginning with my hair. The boys took me to their favorite barber Manny over in Sherman Oaks and applauded my decision to be honest with myself and showcase what I believe is beautiful. I’m proud of myself. I know that there is a place for my beauty in this world and I plan to celebrate who I am, beginning with my roots. I had about a 1/2” of new growth but I wanted to go lower like my mothers hair as well as my make-up artists hair. The boys told the barber “She wants a Number 2 clipper!!! And fade it out on the edges!!! No Hard Line!!!” and I said “No shape me up some”  I don’t know if I’ll do that next time I was so relieved to hear him say $25 bux I gave him this tip which now that I think about it wasn’t the standard 20%. But you girls know our styles run past the HUNDREDS!! This was a steal!

Chrisette-Michele-attends-the-2014-Neighborhood-Awards

In the future, Chrisette, as well as many other natural, including myself, would love to see “natural hair in mainstream media”

“Kelis did it, Lauryn Hill did it, Maxwell, Tracy Ellis Ross, Corrine Bailey Rae, Solange, Tyra Banks, etc…We see every other hair texture represented very well except ours and it breaks my heart. I’m excited to be a part of the natural girls. It’s my intention to be this way for a while”

Published by

NaturalBeauts

In Love With Christ In Love With Natural Hair and Beauty In Love With Myself Natural Hair Blogger and Medical Student

One thought on “Part 3: Learn From Our Top 20 Natural Hair Celebrities”

Leave a Reply

